You can mark a device as trusted to skip multifactor authentication for 30 days when you log in to your LastPass account. You can rename the devices, revoke trust, or delete a trusted device at any time.
LastPass recommends marking personal devices as trusted if only you use them.
Restriction: If you have a LastPass Business, LastPass Business Max, or LastPass Teams account, the ability to perform these actions may be limited due to policies set by your LastPass admin.
Mark a device as trusted
Important: You will still need to complete multifactor authentication when accessing LastPass on other devices. You must repeat this process for each device you want to mark as trusted.
- Log in to LastPass using the device you want to mark as trusted by doing either of the following:
- In your web browser toolbar, select the LastPass icon then select Open My Vault.
- Go to
https://lastpass.com/login/
then enter your username and master password and select Log In.
- When prompted by multifactor authentication, enable the Trust this <device> for 30 days setting.
Troubleshooting: If you are not prompted for multifactor authentication, it means either you have already set this device as trusted or you have not enabled multifactor authentication.
- Optional: Enter a name for your trusted device. If you don't enter a name, LastPass will list the device as the name of the computer, mobile device, or web browser you're using.
- Complete the steps for multifactor authentication.
Results: This device is now listed on the Trusted Devices tab in Account settings.
Rename a trusted device
- Log in to LastPass and access your vault by doing either of the following:
- In your web browser toolbar, select and select Vault.
- Go to
https://lastpass.com/login/
and log in with your email address and master password.
- Select Account settings in the left navigation menu.
- Select the Trusted Devices tab and locate your trusted device.
Tip: LastPass will list the devices you haven't renamed yet as the name of the computer, mobile device, or web browser you were using when you marked them trusted.
- Select the edit icon for your device.
- Enter a new name into the Label field.
- Select the save icon to save your changes.
Results: You have renamed your trusted device.
Revoke trust for a trusted device
You can temporarily revoke trust for a specific device during the 30-day trust window. In this case, LastPass will require multifactor authentication when you log in. The device will remain listed in your Trusted Devices list, and you can re-enable trust at any time within the 30-day trust period.
Tip: To fully remove a trusted device, delete it instead.
- Log in to LastPass and access your vault by doing either of the following:
- In your web browser toolbar, select the LastPass icon and select Vault.
- Go to
https://lastpass.com/login/
and log in with your email address and master password.
- Select Account settings in the left navigation menu.
- Select the Trusted Devices tab and locate your trusted device.
Tip: LastPass will list the devices you haven't renamed yet as the name of the computer, mobile device, or web browser you were using when you marked them trusted.
- Uncheck the box for the Enabled setting.
Results: You have revoked trust for this device, and you will be prompted for multifactor authentication when you access LastPass from this device.
What to do next: If you want to re-enable trust for your device, you can do so by navigating to it on the Trusted Devices tab in Account settings and enabling the Enabled setting.
Delete a trusted device
You can delete a trusted device from the Trusted Devices list before the 30-day trust period ends.
Tip: If you only want to temporarily remove trust for a device within the 30-day trust period, revoke trust instead.
- Log in to LastPass and access your vault by doing either of the following:
- In your web browser toolbar, select the LastPass icon and select Vault.
- Go to
https://lastpass.com/login/
and log in with your email address and master password.
- Select Account settings in the left navigation menu.
- Select the Trusted Devices tab and locate your trusted device.
Tip: LastPass will list the devices you haven't renamed yet as the name of the computer, mobile device, or web browser you were using when you marked them trusted.
- Select the close icon.
- Select OK to confirm.
Results: You have deleted your trusted device, and it is no longer listed on the Trusted Devices tab in Account Settings. LastPass will prompt you for multifactor authentication when logging in from this device.